Tony Award Winners 2023: Updating List

Tony Award Winners 2023: Updating List

Comply with the most recent dwell updates and photographs from the Tony Awards.

The 76th Tony Awards are going down tonight on the United Palace in Manhattan’s Washington Heights neighborhood. The awards ceremony, which honors performs and musicals that opened on Broadway between April 29, 2022, and April 27, 2023, is airing on CBS and streaming on Paramount+. A particular phase, hosted by Julianne Hough and Skylar Astin, streamed on Pluto TV earlier than the primary ceremony, throughout which various awards, together with recognitions for lifetime achievement and greatest authentic rating, have been introduced.

This 12 months’s awards ceremony, which was practically known as off amid the Writers Guild of America strike, shall be offered with no script in an settlement reached with the union. (When the screenwriters’ strike final month threatened the published, playwrights banded collectively to save lots of the telecast.) In consequence, the present will go on, however the ceremony will forego a custom-made opening quantity. Writers have been additionally inspired to pre-record their acceptance speeches.

Ariana DeBose, who’s internet hosting the ceremony for the second 12 months in a row, opened the evening with an evidence of the strike, calling out that she and each presenter shall be unscripted for the night. “To anybody who might have thought that final 12 months was a bit unhinged, to them I say, ‘Darlings, buckle up’,” she stated.

An updating checklist of winners is under.

Miriam Silverman, “The Check in Sidney Brustein’s Window”

Carolyn Downing, “Lifetime of Pi”

Nevin Steinberg, “Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Road”

Tim Lutkin, “Lifetime of Pi”

Natasha Katz, “Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Road”

Joel Gray and John Kander

Jerry Mitchell

Pasadena Playhouse

Jason Zembuch Younger

Lisa Daybreak Cave, Victoria Bailey and Robert Fried


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *